Our Board

Primary Health Tasmania is governed by a skills-based Board of up to nine directors, six of which are elected by our members and three of which are appointed by the Board to address any skills gaps or strategic skill requirements.

The Primary Health Tasmania Board provides leadership and corporate governance for the organisation.

Our Board committees

The Board delegates to and seeks advice from an advisory structure including:

  • Clinical Advisory Council
  • Community Advisory Council
  • Audit and Risk Advisory Committee
  • Clinical Governance Committee
  • Finance Advisory Committee
  • Governance Advisory Committee.

Our Board directors

Mr Hugh McKenzie, Chair

BBus (Acc), FCA, MAICD
Director since 2012

Hugh’s experience as a chartered accountant and partner with international advisory firm KPMG for 24 years brings strong financial and analytical skills to the Primary Health Tasmania Board. He was elected an Alderman of the Launceston City Council in October 2011, and this position ensures Hugh keeps in touch with the community and the importance of health and wellbeing, and believes a strong primary health care sector is a key ingredient to addressing the associated challenges. He champions a strategic, risk-aware approach which, together with a good understanding of governance, are essential ingredients for an effective Board. While he doesn’t have a clinical background, Hugh has acted as an advisor and accountant to many primary care, allied, general and specialist practitioners and is a past Chairman of Cornerstone Youth Services Inc (headspace).

Dr Judith Watson, Deputy Chair

Director since 2011

Judith graduated from the University of Auckland School of Medicine, completed a Diploma of Obstetrics and Fellowship of Royal New Zealand College of General Practitioners in 1991. She has been working in general practice in Launceston since 1994, and is a member of the board of Tasprac services and a member of the Health Council of Tasmania. She is a graduate of the Australian Institute of Company Directors and regularly participates in governance training activities. She is passionately committed to improving the health of Tasmanians with both established and innovative strategies.

Ms Heather Francis

Director since 2013

Heather has worked in the Tasmanian health sector for three decades, initially as a dental therapist in some of the state’s most rural areas. After completing a BCom (Hons) she moved into corporate positions in DHHS before accepting an academic role in the School of Management at UTAS. She became Tas Faculty Manager for the Royal Australian College of General Practitioners before working as CEO of MSTas and more recently as CEO of the RHH Research Foundation. As an independent entity, the RHHRF’s grants have increasingly taken a statewide and interdisciplinary focus in exploring medical conditions and health service delivery issues that are particularly important to Tasmanians. In recognition of her skills and achievements she was awarded Telstra Businesswoman of 2013 for the Community/Government sector and has been a member of the Tasmanian Community Fund Board since 2014.

Mr Graeme Lynch

LLB (Hons), BCom, Fellow CPA, GradDip Leg St, FAIM, FAICD
Director since 2012

Graeme is the CEO of the Heart Foundation and plays an active role in the public health space in Tasmania. He has a background in business with professional legal, accountancy, company director and commerce experience as well as interest in Tasmania’s economic development and tourism. Currently in addition to his Heart Foundation role, he is the chair of a number of councils and organisations, including Premier’s Health and Wellbeing Advisory Council, Tasmanian Chronic Disease Prevention Alliance, Health in All Policies Collaboration and serves as a member of the Tasmanian Tobacco Control Coalition and Tasmanian Data Linkage Unit Steering Committee. He is committed to influencing social and health policy that promotes healthy lifestyles, addresses the social determinants of health, and minimises chronic disease risk factors such as smoking, lack of physical activity and overweight and obesity.

Dr Rob Walters

Director since 2015

Rob graduated from the University of Tasmania in 1979 and has been a practising GP in suburban Hobart for 32 years. He is also a medico-legal adviser and case manager for the Medical Indemnity Protection Society (MIPS) in Tasmania and sits as a part-time member on the Administrative Appeals Tribunal (AAT). Rob was the National Chair of the Australian Divisions of General Practice from 2002 to 2005. He also serves on a number of national and state boards and councils representing general practice, including the Asbestos Safety and Eradication Council, as well as the Headspace Board. Between 1994 and 2015 he was on the Board of his local Division of General Practice, including six years as Chair. Rob has a special interest in occupational medicine and workers compensation, and was also a National Men’s Health Ambassador, advising the Australian Government on policy relating to male health matters.

Ms Allyson Warrington

Director since 2016

Allyson brings to the Board a diverse set of skills in primary health care as well as an extensive professional skill set in corporate governance, financial management, change management, strategy and policy development. She is CEO of General Practice Training Tasmania and was previously General Manager Tasmania and Global Manager, Tertiary Development, at CPA Australia. Allyson is Chair of the national network of nine General Practice Regional Training Organisations. She is also a member of the Nursing and Midwifery Board of Australia, President of the Cancer Council Tasmania, and a member of the Australian Health Practitioner Regulation Agency Finance Audit and Risk Management Committee. Her former non-executive director roles include Director of the Tasmanian Polytechnic, President of the Australian Marketing Institute (Tas) and Public Relations Institute of Australia (Tas). She holds a Bachelor of Business (Marketing and International Business) and Company Directors Course Diploma.