Our advisory councils

Primary Health Tasmania’s Clinical Advisory Council and Community Advisory Council are standing advisory bodies to the Board and provide informed professional and local perspectives on how to improve Tasmania’s health system and the unique health needs of our local communities.

This includes:

  • planning for and the delivery of Primary Health Tasmania’s strategic objectives
  • monitoring the organisation’s performance in achieving health outcomes
  • assessing the Tasmanian community’s health needs
  • determining health service priorities and solutions
  • assessing the impact of changes in national and state health policy.

Members are appointed for three years.

Clinical Advisory Council

The Clinical Advisory Council also provides clinical leadership and informs the creation of locally relevant service responses that are aligned with national priorities. It supports Primary Health Tasmania to improve the cost-effectiveness and quality of services and the timeliness of patient care, and to reduce avoidable hospitalisations.

The 11-member Clinical Advisory Council comprises clinicians from around the state with skills and expertise in urban and rural and remote general practice, Aboriginal health, acute care, aged and palliative care, community pharmacy, allied health, education and research.

Members are:

  • Dr Carsten Grimm, GP
  • Dr Diane Hopper, GP
  • Dr Don Rose, GP
  • Dr John Saul, GP
  • Dr Boon Shih Sie, GP
  • Dr Tania Winzenberg, GP
  • Olivia Boer, allied health position (psychology)
  • Gemma Tuxworth, allied health (physiotherapy)
  • Jack Muir Wilson, allied health (community pharmacy).

You can read the Clinical Advisory Council’s terms of reference here, and skills matrix here.

Community Advisory Council

The Community Advisory Council also ensures the community perspective features strongly in Primary Health Tasmania’s decisions and investments. It supports the organisation to respond to community issues and improve the healthcare system to the benefit of all Tasmanians, with a particular focus on the vulnerable and disadvantaged members of our community.

The 10-member Community Advisory Council comprises of community members and representatives from populations with unmet health needs, as well as a range of community primary care roles. This includes aged care, local government, work skills and education, advocacy, rural and remote, mental health and the social determinants of health.

Members are:

  • Anita Campbell
  • Casey Garrett
  • Gabe Gossage
  • Nicole Grose
  • Sue Leitch
  • Miriam Moreton
  • Health Consumers Tasmania nominee (to be advised).

You can read the Community Advisory Council’s terms of reference here, and skills matrix here.

Meeting calendar

While quarterly face-to-face meetings have been our usual forum, we have had to make some adjustments to our schedule with shorter more frequent meetings via Zoom because of the COVID-19 environment.

Register your interest

If you would like to be notified about vacancies on either Council, register your interest via email or contact us on 1300 653 169.